The latest news

The City of Games

Character customisation

15th June 2016 0

Customising your character is a big part of The City of Kings adventure and each time you play you will be able to customise your character however you desire.

Whether you want to focus on fighting monsters, healing friends, gathering resources, exploring or just putting out fires you can decide as you choose your characters strengths and weaknesses.


Customisation is split over 2 areas, your stats and your skills.


All characters start with the same basic stats and as you progress through the game you will be allowed to increase the stats you want to focus on.

You can choose from:


  • Health – How much damage you can take.
  • Attack – How much damage you can do.
  • Heal – How much health you can restore.


  • Move – How far you can move.
  • Range – How far you can reach.
  • Luck – How likely you are to do bonus damage or heal for more.


  • Move – How far your worker can move.
  • Gather – How efficient your worker is at collecting resources.
  • Scavenge – How efficient your worker is at finding items at enemy camps.

Every time you level up you can increase any stat by 1, additionally items you equip will increase various stats depending on its type.

Perhaps you want to be a ranged attacker, dealing damage from a distance, you can focus on attack and range.

If you’d rather run around really quickly, getting up close and attacking the enemy before they know you are there then you could choose attack and move.

Or perhaps you’re the friendly type and just want to focus on gathering resources and exploring the world? Then the worker stats are for you.

Anything is possible!


Each character has a unique skill tree consisting of 12 skills varying from upgrading your basic actions to introducing entirely new abilities.

Perhaps you’d like a weaker heal that targets multiple characters, the ability to cure poison or to master the stables and ride horses around the Ageless Realms.


The skill tree is split into 3 tiers which you must climb in order to unlock the more powerful spells, but remember, you may only take 1 skill from each tier. This means by the end of the game you will have a maximum of 3 of the 12 skills.

So how do you progress up the tree?

Each time you level you gain 1 skill point, it costs 2 skill points to climb to the next tree and each ability you choose costs an additional 1 skill point. This means by the time you reach level 3 you will have been able to choose your first skill and by level 9 you will have all 3.


With 6 characters to choose from, totalling 72 skills, you will be able to create a uniquely customised character each time you play, or should you wish, you can choose the same options every time!

Whatever you decide, you’ll be responsible for who your character is, what they can do and how you enjoy the adventure.

Frank West

Frank West is a gamer and designer based in Bristol, UK. He published his first board game, The City of Kings, in 2018 and now works on other games and organising events in the local area. His goal? To design and publish games focusing on immersive themes, fun mechanics and beautiful components. If you have any questions or would just like a chat, feel free to get in touch at any time!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *