Welcome to the official FAQ for The City of Kings, on this page you will find answers to all the frequently asked questions about the game.
Yes! When a fire token is placed on a map tile, it immediately does damage to any heroes and/or creatures on the map tile.
Yes! When a poison token is placed on a map tile, if there is a hero or a creature on that tile, the poison token is immediately removed from the map tile. All heroes and creatures on the map tile, then place a poison token on their character sheet/creature template.
Poison can be removed in 2 ways:
Note. The Time Tracker does not affect poison tokens once they have been placed on a character sheet.
When setting up a story/scenario that has revealed creature tiles, you should not set up a creature on these tiles unless the card specifically says otherwise.
No! When a creature or boss is set up due to a story or scenario card, it does not activate until the start of the next round.
If a story/scenario instructs you to place a creature on a creature map tile, the creature does not get the bonus abilities the map tile would grant when explored.
When activating a skill which shows 2 actions under its description, you must spend 2 action tokens in order to activate the skill.
For example, T’lorra’s Wish skill requires you to place 1 action token on the move action space, and another on the heal action space in order to activate it.
Mines are resource tiles which produce ore. All Mine map tiles will contain the gather icon and ore icon in the top left corner.
The Ageless Realms refers to the green map tiles and Azure Rise refers to the red map tiles.
Minions are not creatures, and do not count towards “kill creature” objectives.
Nothing! The minion remains on the board, looking lost and confused and waits for a new master to come along and give it new instructions.
Minions without a master will still trap workers, but otherwise will not perform actions unless a new master comes along.
Option B says:
“Take 1 fish to The City of Kings.”
This should say:
“Take 10 fish to The City of Kings.”
During escort scenarios, the NPC token representing the person you are escorting can not move if it is on a tile with a creature. If the NPC is on the same tile as a creature, then you will need to either kill the creature, or make it move before you can continue to escort the NPC.
Part b of the Board Set Up states you should use Boss Bar 1 but it does not mention which template to use. You can use any creature template for this scenario, you should not use one of the boss templates.
The set up for the Legendary Challenge of story 5 should ready “place the first to the West (instead of North), and the second to the South”.
If you have any card specific questions please include the full text from the card in order to help speed up responses.
Please keep comments friendly, any rude or degrading comments will be removed.