fbpx

Frequently asked questions

Emberleaf

Welcome to the official FAQ for Emberleaf, on this page you will find answers to all the frequently asked questions about the game.


Card clarifications

I have a question about a specific card:

You can find a list of card clarifications here.


War banners

Some cards show a war banner icon — this refers to the war banners you collect by clearing dangerous areas. The number indicates how many are required, and the banners can be any colour.

In most cases, you’ll need to spend a war banner. To do this, choose one you’ve collected and remove it from the game. You keep the points, but lose the banner.


Card sleeves

I would like to sleeve my cards, what do I need?

Emberleaf game:

  • 234 sleeves that fit 63mm x 88mm cards.

Hero Pack 1:

  • 13 sleeves that fit 63mm x 88mm cards.

Hero Pack 2:

  • 13 sleeves that fit 63mm x 88mm cards.

Hero Pack 3:

  • 13 sleeves that fit 63mm x 88mm cards.

Trophies & Bonuses expansion:

  • 29 sleeves that fit 63mm x 88mm cards.

Bag’o’Banners

  • 1 sleeve that fits 63mm x 88mm cards.

I have a different question

If you have a question that is not answered above, then please post on our Facebook group, on Board Game Geek, or leave a comment below and someone will respond as quickly as possible.

As the questions come in, we’ll continue to update this page.


How to play

Learn how to play Emberleaf by watching a video or download the rulebook for the game here.

Learn how to play



FAQ

Find answers to frequently asked questions and get clarifications on how specific cards work here.

Find the answers


Leave a comment

If you have any card specific questions please include the full text from the card in order to help speed up responses.

Please keep comments friendly, any rude or degrading comments will be removed.

20 comments

  • Bianca

    6th June 2025 at 12:45 pm

    Hi,
    About the hero Maple, her action is “play a hero” does this mean that you can place another card?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      6th June 2025 at 1:43 pm

      Hi Bianca, that is correct yes. When playing Maple you can immediately play another hero card to your fellowship board.

      Reply

  • Laurence Parsons

    7th June 2025 at 8:26 pm

    Malaria’s ability is “spend 2 wood to build 1”. Do you also have to pay the normal building costs or is this a replacement cost?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th June 2025 at 11:17 am

      Hi Laurence,

      I can confirm you still have to pay the normal building costs as well.

      Reply

  • KATHERINE YODER

    12th June 2025 at 3:18 am

    When you do an attack for how many wood icons you have shown. (hero Lark #35) can you add any sword icons you have also to up the count. Ie 3 wood tokens shown and attack of 2 plus three sword icons for a total of 5 attack?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      12th June 2025 at 11:35 am

      Hi Katherine,

      You do not count the swords, Lark is a special card that only uses wood when calculating their attack value.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

      • KATHERINE YODER

        12th June 2025 at 11:49 am

        Thanks! That is how we played it. Just wanted to be sure wasn’t cheating anyone out of anything. 🙂

        Reply

  • Tim

    14th June 2025 at 4:57 pm

    For Amara, does recruit a hero refer to gaining a new hero from the table or playing onto the fellowship board?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      14th June 2025 at 5:29 pm

      Hi Tim, this refers to getting a new hero!

      Reply

  • Justin Webb

    14th June 2025 at 8:49 pm

    Can Luna be played on the attack slot, immediatly use her charge ability to walk, then use the attack slots ability to attack?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      14th June 2025 at 11:28 pm

      Hey Justin,

      You can’t do this.

      Fellowship skills on your fellowship board are on-play skills and are resolved immediately when you place a card.

      When you take the place a card action, all on-play skills on the card / your fellowship board resolve as part of that action.

      Only once that action is fully complete can you use the charge skill as a free action.

      Hope that helps!

      Reply

  • Bill

    15th June 2025 at 4:30 am

    If a card’s drop-off ability refers to a stat, do that card’s own stats count toward the ability? For example, 033 Varr has two swords, and a drop-off ability of Attack 1 per [2 swords]. Do Varr’s swords count toward the attack? The rulebook says that heroes “on the fellowship board” count, and drop-off abilities resolve “when a card drops off your fellowship board”, so a *really* tight reading would indicate that the card doesn’t count toward its own ability… but that just seems silly, and the card should count toward its own ability.

    Reply

    • Frank West

      15th June 2025 at 11:48 am

      Hi Bill – Yes.
      Cards count their own stats when dropping off.
      I hope that helps!

      Reply

  • Matt

    17th June 2025 at 9:55 pm

    Hi, just turned over ” trigger the end of the game for 7 points favour card. Does this mean I end the game. It’s my first turn. I move to a campfire and end the game for 7 points. 🙂

    Reply

    • Frank West

      17th June 2025 at 10:02 pm

      Hi Matt,

      This means you will get 7 points if you are the person who triggers the end of the game.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Matt

    17th June 2025 at 11:00 pm

    Brill, thank you. I’m also not quite getting the attack cards Vynn, Tarrak. Does Yynn turn every two swords into three swords so 4 is now 6 and 3 would be 5? I can’t work out Tarrak s slide.

    Reply

    • Frank West

      17th June 2025 at 11:09 pm

      Hi Matt,

      Vynn deals 3 attack for every 2 swords:
      – 1 sword does nothing
      – 2–3 swords = 3 attack
      – 4–5 swords = 6 attack
      – 6–7 swords = 9 attack

      Similarly, Tarrak deals 1 attack for every 2 swords and can attack anywhere on the board, allowing you to reach dangerous areas that aren’t immediately adjacent.

      Reply

  • Federico

    22nd June 2025 at 2:45 pm

    Is there a limit (max) to the number of favor card a player can have in play?
    I heard max 8 in the rules explanation video by Frank, but I could not find any in the rulebook.

    Reply

    • Frank West

      22nd June 2025 at 11:35 pm

      Hi Federico,

      You are limited by the number the game allows you to take, there’s no specific number written into the rules.

      In the base game of Emberleaf, you can:
      – Gain 1 when someone reaches 6 points.
      – Gain 5 by collecting favour discs
      – Gain 2 by homing villagers

      This gives a maximum of 8.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

      • Federico

        23rd June 2025 at 8:23 am

        Clear, thank you for the answer!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *