Frequently asked questions

Race to the Raft

Welcome to the official FAQ for Race to the Raft, on this page you will find answers to all the frequently asked questions about the game.

Card sleeves

I would like to sleeve my cards, what do I need?

Race to the Raft game:

  • 154 sleeves that fit 70mm x 70mm cards.

I have a different question

If you have a question that is not answered above, then please post on our Facebook group, on Board Game Geek, or leave a comment below and someone will respond as quickly as possible.

As the questions come in, we’ll continue to update this page.

How to play

Learn how to play Race to the Raft by watching a video or download the rulebook for the game here.

Learn how to play


Watch Race to the Raft being played and hear from independent reviewers about their thoughts on the game.

Watch a video

Leave a comment

If you have any card specific questions please include the full text from the card in order to help speed up responses.

Please keep comments friendly, any rude or degrading comments will be removed.


  • Ezra

    6th September 2023 at 5:02 am

    Hi, I have a question about placement. Sorry my English is my second language, greetings from Ecuador. Is it possible to place a fire tile covering part of a location card once I moved the cat from the starting location.

    If possible can it cover the box with the cat icon?


    • Frank West

      6th September 2023 at 8:54 pm

      Hi Erza,

      I can confirm you may place a fire tile that covers part of a location card, including the square that contains the cat icon.

      As long as it doesn’t block your cat from reaching the raft, it is a good strategy to use.

      I hope this helps!


  • David G

    23rd October 2023 at 9:37 pm

    I know cats have to move in a single straight line (no zig-zags), but can they move in a diagonal line? The rules don’t seem explicit, and the “You must be able to draw a line” paragraph seems like it would be redundant if diagonal lines *aren’t* supposed to be allowed.

    Really enjoying playing this game with my 7 year old! We are ignoring the communication rules for now and keeping hands visible (as this is our most complex co-op game yet) and it’s working really well for her level.


    • Frank West

      23rd October 2023 at 9:57 pm

      Hi David, I am really glad to hear you have been enjoying the game with your daughter!

      It sounds like the movement rules have not been clear for you so I would be happy to help clarify them.

      A cat can move any number of squares, and it may move around corners within that move, but it cannot move diagonally.

      Let’s assume you have the below 2×2 area:

      Blue Red
      Red Blue

      A cat cannot move from the top left blue to the bottom right blue.

      Now let’s assume you have the below 2×2 area:

      Blue Blue
      Red Blue

      In a single move, a cat can move from the top left blue to the bottom right blue, travelling through the top right blue.

      As long as you can draw a line (which may include 90 degree bends) from the starting square to the destination square, which only goes through the same colour squares, the move is valid.

      I hope this helps clarify it but if not please let me know and I’ll see if I can find a way to connect a diagram to this comment system.


      • David G

        23rd October 2023 at 10:18 pm

        Oh wow! That is the exact opposite of what I thought the rules meant. It is definitely not intuitive to me that “a line” can include bends — I was thinking geometrically, like a straight line between two points.

        I’d definitely suggest that future rulebooks have a picture showing a legal move that includes bends.


        • James

          29th December 2023 at 9:55 am

          Agree. We thought line meant straight line as well. We quickly discovered that it was very hard this way and realised that line meant “path of orthogonally adjacent spaces”.


  • Jez

    27th April 2024 at 11:48 am

    Can a cat that has reached the raft be moved again? Eg. to avoid placing a tile and fire, discarding a tile to move a cat from the raft somewhere else and then discarding two tiles to move the cat back to the raft.


    • Frank West

      29th April 2024 at 2:04 pm

      Hey Jez, I am afraid once a cat has reached the raft it can no longer move.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *