Emberleaf has hundreds of cards and we know that sometimes you may struggle to understand exactly what one means, so we created this page to help you.
Each card has a number, and this list is sorted by those numbers. On Favour cards, the number is in the bottom-right corner; on Hero cards, it’s on the middle-right edge.
If you have a non-card specific question you can find our FAQ here.
No clarifications added.
Lark and Barrel attack based on the number of wood or food stats in your fellowship; attack (swords) stats are ignored.
No clarifications added.
Digger’s slide skills require you to spend war banners to use them. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
Digger’s top slide skill is an exception — it asks you to place the war banner on an empty space on the game board instead of removing it. If there are no empty spaces, you can’t perform this skill.
No clarifications added.
When you place resources on this card, they come from the supply. Puck effectively gathers resources over time and gives them to you when they activate their drop-off skill.
Ironrak’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
No clarifications added.
Borel’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
No clarifications added.
Patty’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
Dash’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
No clarifications added.
Koren’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
No clarifications added.
Maple’s on-play skill lets you immediately place another hero card onto your fellowship board, just like taking a second ‘place a card’ action.
No clarifications added.
No clarifications added.
No clarifications added.
No clarifications added.
Solo clarification: When a card says to give it to another player, discard it instead in the solo game.
Solo clarification: When a card says to give it to another player, discard it instead in the solo game.
No clarifications added.
Fang’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.
No clarifications added.
Hunk’s ongoing skill triggers when you spend war banners.
No clarifications added.
All homed rats must be on markets.
If you have homed no rats, this meets the conditions of the card and scores points.
All homed frogs must be on boat houses.
If you have homed no frogs, this meets the conditions of the card and scores points.
No clarifications added.
This card contains the setup instructions for the Bag’o’Banners and is not used in gameplay.
If you have a question that is not answered above, then please post on our Facebook group, on Board Game Geek, or post a comment below and someone will respond as quickly as possible.
As the questions come in, we’ll continue to update this page.
Learn how to play Emberleaf by watching a video or download the rulebook for the game here.
Find answers to frequently asked questions and get clarifications on how specific cards work here.
If you have any card specific questions please include the full text from the card in order to help speed up responses.
Please keep comments friendly, any rude or degrading comments will be removed.
10 comments
Kevin
7th June 2025 at 9:15 pm
On Puck’s slide ability, it says place two food and one stone on this card. Is that from the general supply or from your storage?
Frank West
9th June 2025 at 11:18 am
Hi Kevin, it is from the general supply!
Niyi Bammodu
8th June 2025 at 8:07 am
Hello,
Just wanted to check I understand Digger’s skill correctly.
“Spend one stone and place it in an empty space on the map.”
Frank West
9th June 2025 at 11:20 am
Hi Niyi, Digger allows you to spend war banners you have collected.
– The first slide action allows you to return a war banner to the map, by placing the dangerous area token back on the board.
– The second slide action allows you to spend a war banner to gather 2 stone.
I hope this helps!
Scott
8th June 2025 at 5:29 pm
I don’t think this page is working properly. All I see is “No clarifications have been requested.” Shouldn’t there be a list of clarifications for each card?
Frank West
9th June 2025 at 11:24 am
Hi Scott,
The clarifications are (will be) based on questions that people have asked, at release there was nothing to include. As more people start receiving their games and questions come up, they will be added to this page.
I hope this helps!
Craig McNicholas
8th June 2025 at 10:38 pm
What does “play a hero” mean on Maples card 76?
Frank West
9th June 2025 at 11:21 am
Hi Craig,
This means you can place another hero on your fellowship board and resolve it as usual.
Effectively, Maple gives you lots of stats, takes up a space on your fellowship board, and then allows you to play another card.
I hope this helps!
Grumpy
9th June 2025 at 11:04 pm
Matching Marvels #097 – Favor Card
“Have the same number of buildings in exactly 2 clearings”
What If i have 2 different pairs of clearings with the same number of buildings?
Clearing A: 2 Buildings
Clearing B: 2 Building
Clearing C: 3 Buildings
Clearing D: 3 Buildings
Frank West
10th June 2025 at 11:38 pm
Hi Grumpy, in this case you would get the points. As long as the number of buildings in the other matching pair is different to the number in the scoring pair, then it is OK.
I hope this helps!