Welcome to the official FAQ for The City of Kings, on this page you will find answers to all the frequently asked questions about the game.
Do fire tokens do damage when they are placed?
Yes! When a fire token is placed on a map tile, it immediately does damage to any heroes and/or creatures on the map tile.
Do poison tokens get moved to a character sheets as soon as they are placed?
Yes! When a poison token is placed on a map tile, if there is a hero or a creature on that tile, the poison token is immediately removed from the map tile. All heroes and creatures on the map tile, then place a poison token on their character sheet/creature template.
How do you remove poison?
Poison can be removed in 2 ways:
- You can visit The City of Kings tile, which removes all impairments from your character sheet.
- You can use a “Remove poison” skill, which can be found on some characters skill trees.
Note. The Time Tracker does not affect poison tokens once they have been placed on a character sheet.
Story and scenario set up
Do I place creatures during set up?
When setting up a story/scenario that has revealed creature tiles, you should not set up a creature on these tiles unless the card specifically says otherwise.
Do creatures placed during story/scenario set up, instantly activate?
No! When a creature or boss is set up due to a story or scenario card, it does not activate until the start of the next round.
Map tile bonuses
If a story/scenario instructs you to place a creature on a creature map tile, the creature does not get the bonus abilities the map tile would grant when explored.
Skills with multiple actions
When activating a skill which shows 2 actions under its description, you must spend 2 action tokens in order to activate the skill.
For example, T’lorra’s Wish skill requires you to place 1 action token on the move action space, and another on the heal action space in order to activate it.
Are minions creatures?
Minions are not creatures, and do not count towards “kill creature” objectives.
What happens to a minion when the creature that created it dies?
Nothing! The minion remains on the board, looking lost and confused and waits for a new master to come along and give it new instructions.
Minions without a master will still trap workers, but otherwise will not perform actions unless a new master comes along.
During escort scenarios, the NPC token representing the person you are escorting can not move if it is on a tile with a creature. If the NPC is on the same tile as a creature, then you will need to either kill the creature, or make it move before you can continue to escort the NPC.
Children of Lesser Men
Part b of the Board Set Up states you should use Boss Bar 1 but it does not mention which template to use. You can use any creature template for this scenario, you should not use one of the boss templates.
Bosses and special characters
Unfortunately, some of The Rules for The Scorched didn’t print correctly on page 27 of the rulebook, here is the missing section:
During the creature activation phase, The Scorched will use its special ability Fire Trail, but it will not perform any other actions.
If you have a question that is not answered above, then please post on our Facebook group or on Board Game Geek and someone will usually respond very quickly. Otherwise, you can email us here and we will get back to you as soon as possible, but it’s often quicker to post on one of the groups above!
As the questions come in, we’ll continue to update this page.