fbpx

Card clarifications

Emberleaf

Emberleaf has hundreds of cards and we know that sometimes you may struggle to understand exactly what one means, so we created this page to help you.


Each card has a number, and this list is sorted by those numbers. On Favour cards, the number is in the bottom-right corner; on Hero cards, it’s on the middle-right edge.

If you have a non-card specific question you can find our FAQ here.


Emberleaf

Cards 001 – 034

No clarifications added.

Card 035 – 036 (Lark / Barrel)

Lark and Barrel attack based on the number of wood or food stats in your fellowship; attack (swords) stats are ignored.

Cards 037 – 040

No clarifications added.

Card 041 (Digger)

Digger’s slide skills require you to spend war banners to use them. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Digger’s top slide skill is an exception — it asks you to place the war banner on an empty space on the game board instead of removing it. If there are no empty spaces, you can’t perform this skill.

Card 042

No clarifications added.

Card 043 (Puck)

When you place resources on this card, they come from the supply. Puck effectively gathers resources over time and gives them to you when they activate their drop-off skill.

Card 044 (Ironrak)

Ironrak’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Cards 045 – 051

No clarifications added.

Card 052 (Borel)

Borel’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and place it on an empty space on the game board. If there are no empty spaces, you can’t perform this skill.

Cards 053 – 066

No clarifications added.

Card 067 (Patty)

Patty’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Card 068 (Dash)

Dash’s slide skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Cards 069 – 071

No clarifications added.

Card 072 (Koren)

Koren’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Cards 073 – 075

No clarifications added.

Card 076 (Maple)

Maple’s on-play skill lets you immediately place another hero card onto your fellowship board, just like taking a second ‘place a card’ action.

Cards 077 – 234

No clarifications added.

Trophies & Bonuses

Cards 235 – 263

No clarifications added.

Hero Pack 1

Cards 264 – 276

No clarifications added.

Hero Pack 2

Cards 277 – 289

No clarifications added.

Card 281 (Bliss)

Solo clarification: When a card says to give it to another player, discard it instead in the solo game.

Card 282 (Pop)

Solo clarification: When a card says to give it to another player, discard it instead in the solo game.

Hero Pack 3

Cards 290

No clarifications added.

Card 291 (Fang)

Fang’s charge skill requires you to spend a war banner to use it. Take a war banner you’ve collected from a dangerous area and remove it from the game. You still keep the points you earned, but you no longer have the banner.

Cards 292

No clarifications added.

Card 293 (Hunk)

Hunk’s ongoing skill triggers when you spend war banners.

Cards 294 – 299

No clarifications added.

Card 300 (Trade Tails)

All homed rats must be on markets.

If you have homed no rats, this meets the conditions of the card and scores points.

Card 301 (Boat Hoppers)

All homed frogs must be on boat houses.

If you have homed no frogs, this meets the conditions of the card and scores points.

Cards 302

No clarifications added.

Bag’o’Banners

Card 303

This card contains the setup instructions for the Bag’o’Banners and is not used in gameplay.


If you have a question that is not answered above, then please post on our Facebook group, on Board Game Geek, or post a comment below and someone will respond as quickly as possible.

As the questions come in, we’ll continue to update this page.


How to play

Learn how to play Emberleaf by watching a video or download the rulebook for the game here.

Learn how to play



FAQ

Find answers to frequently asked questions and get clarifications on how specific cards work here.

Find the answers


Leave a comment

If you have any card specific questions please include the full text from the card in order to help speed up responses.

Please keep comments friendly, any rude or degrading comments will be removed.

30 comments

  • Kevin

    7th June 2025 at 9:15 pm

    On Puck’s slide ability, it says place two food and one stone on this card. Is that from the general supply or from your storage?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th June 2025 at 11:18 am

      Hi Kevin, it is from the general supply!

      Reply

  • Niyi Bammodu

    8th June 2025 at 8:07 am

    Hello,

    Just wanted to check I understand Digger’s skill correctly.
    “Spend one stone and place it in an empty space on the map.”

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th June 2025 at 11:20 am

      Hi Niyi, Digger allows you to spend war banners you have collected.

      – The first slide action allows you to return a war banner to the map, by placing the dangerous area token back on the board.
      – The second slide action allows you to spend a war banner to gather 2 stone.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Scott

    8th June 2025 at 5:29 pm

    I don’t think this page is working properly. All I see is “No clarifications have been requested.” Shouldn’t there be a list of clarifications for each card?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th June 2025 at 11:24 am

      Hi Scott,

      The clarifications are (will be) based on questions that people have asked, at release there was nothing to include. As more people start receiving their games and questions come up, they will be added to this page.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Craig McNicholas

    8th June 2025 at 10:38 pm

    What does “play a hero” mean on Maples card 76?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th June 2025 at 11:21 am

      Hi Craig,

      This means you can place another hero on your fellowship board and resolve it as usual.

      Effectively, Maple gives you lots of stats, takes up a space on your fellowship board, and then allows you to play another card.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Grumpy

    9th June 2025 at 11:04 pm

    Matching Marvels #097 – Favor Card
    “Have the same number of buildings in exactly 2 clearings”
    What If i have 2 different pairs of clearings with the same number of buildings?
    Clearing A: 2 Buildings
    Clearing B: 2 Building
    Clearing C: 3 Buildings
    Clearing D: 3 Buildings

    Reply

    • Frank West

      10th June 2025 at 11:38 pm

      Hi Grumpy, in this case you would get the points. As long as the number of buildings in the other matching pair is different to the number in the scoring pair, then it is OK.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Sheldon

    14th June 2025 at 6:22 pm

    For the favor card 107, Spinning Abode, “Have the same number of houses and windmills”, does it count if I have 0 of each?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      14th June 2025 at 6:41 pm

      Yes – That would count!

      Reply

  • Federico

    22nd June 2025 at 2:50 pm

    Favor card “Close friends” says “Have a houses tile touching two other houses tiles”: do you need to own (have a villager) all three of them, or just the central one, while the others can be other players’?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      22nd June 2025 at 11:32 pm

      Hi Federico,

      You only need a villager on the central one, the other 2 can have anyones villagers on them.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

      • Federico

        23rd June 2025 at 8:25 am

        Ok! It might be a good idea to add this as an official FAQ above on the page, there was debate in our group regarding this. Thanks!

        Reply

  • Jess G

    27th June 2025 at 1:16 am

    Hello,

    For Dusk (065), the drop off skill “everyone gather 2 wood, or 2 food, or 1 stone” – does this mean everyone playing the game would choose something to gather?

    I have the same question about Brann (074), his drop off skill, “everyone walks 3”.

    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Frank West

      27th June 2025 at 6:43 pm

      Hi Jess, that is correct – Everyone who is playing gets to do the skill.

      It is best to do it in turn order starting with the player who performed the slide, just to ensure no one is missed.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Cat

    29th June 2025 at 5:02 pm

    I don’t have the cards in front of me so I can’t reference the names or numbers (sorry!) but we had this question with two different (but similar) hero cards. They were both on play skills, one was I think “spend 1 food build 1“ and the other I think was “spend 1 wood build 1.” Our group wasn’t sure if that meant spend 1 of that resource in substitution of a building’s normal resource cost, or if it was in addition to the building’s normal resource cost.

    Thanks for having this page available, it’s so helpful!

    Reply

    • Frank West

      1st July 2025 at 3:48 pm

      Hi Cat, this is in addition to the building cost.

      You’re paying the 1 food or 1 wood to be able to perform the build, the build itself requires all the usual resources.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Marco

    4th July 2025 at 6:07 am

    Card 005 – Luna.
    Instant text reads:
    “Walk 2
    Gather 1 food”

    Do you have to any part of the “walk” to be able to receive the food benefit?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      4th July 2025 at 4:01 pm

      You do not, it is always optional.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

  • Kirill

    9th July 2025 at 7:38 am

    Flick card(009) contains two separate sliding skills.
    Can I choose only one or both of them during sliding action?

    Reply

    • Frank West

      9th July 2025 at 3:10 pm

      Hi Kirill,

      You can always choose to do both, one, or none.

      The only restriction is if you do both, you must do the top one first.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

      • Kirill

        10th July 2025 at 7:47 am

        For example in Varr(033) card two actions(walk 2, attack) is written in one on-play block. But Flick card(009) contains two separate sliding blocks.
        Does it mean that in both cards I can choose to do both, one, or none? What is the difference when it’s written in one block or in two separate blocks?

        Reply

        • Frank West

          10th July 2025 at 11:29 am

          Hi Kirill,

          That is correct — in both cases, you can choose to do both, either, or none.

          The only difference between the two is how other cards or effects interact with them. For example, the 84-point scoring bonus lets you activate a single on-play trigger. As Varr’s abilities are in the same block, this would include both “walk 2” and “attack.” But if they were written as separate triggers, you’d have to choose one.

          Reply

  • Sandra

    19th July 2025 at 3:38 pm

    Hello, Melody card says: gather 1 Stone for each Stone icon, count his own icon for activate the skill when It drop off the board? Thank you

    Reply

    • Frank West

      19th July 2025 at 6:16 pm

      Hi Sandra, yes!

      Cards count their own icons when resolving their own slide skills and dropping off your board.

      Reply

      • Sandra

        19th July 2025 at 6:17 pm

        Thank you Frank
        😍

        Reply

  • Cat

    21st July 2025 at 4:25 pm

    Back again, love this game! But I have another question, this time regarding Hatch. We’ve seen this card somehow a few times now (I think I need to shuffle better) and each time the group thinks it means something different. First we thought it meant with Hatch in play on your fellowship board, you cannot perform the slide action. Next we thought it meant you can slide, but Hatch cannot, possibly blocking the fourth slot to the right of it. After further discussion, we decided instead it probably meant that the fellowship board and sliding was not affected, but the “you cannot move” meant your hero piece on the game board could not walk / move, so you had to stay in whatever clearing you were when you put Hatch in play and could not walk until Hatch is off the fellowship board. Can you please clarify the “you can’t move” bit so we know for sure which is correct? Thank you!

    Reply

    • Frank West

      22nd July 2025 at 1:32 pm

      Hi Cat,

      While Hatch is on your fellowship board, you can no longer move around the game board. This has no impact on your ability to slide, but until you return Hatch to your hand, you are stuck in your current location.

      I hope this helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *